New Doctor Who Audios Coming Early 2016


More news on the Doctor Who audio front, with several new audios being announced to be released in early 2016. The first to arrive is a an unabridged reading of Terrence Dicks’ classic Tom Baker story, The State of Decay. Read by John Leeson and Geoffrey Beever who played K-9 and The Master respectively, State of Decay will be available from the 7th of January 2015. Synopsis below:

An unabridged reading of this exciting novelisation of a 1980 TV adventure featuring the Fourth Doctor, as played by Tom Baker. The Doctor, Romana and K9 – and a young stowaway called Adric – are trapped in the alternative universe of E-Space. Seeking help, the land on an unknown planet. There they find a nightmare world where oppressed peasants toil for the Lords who live in the Tower, and where all learning is forbidden: a society in a state of decay. What is the terrifying secret of the Three Who Rule? What monstrous creature stirs beneath the Tower, waking from its thousand year sleep? The Doctor discovers that the oldest and deadliest enemy of the Time Lords is about to spring into horrifying action.

Following this, on the same day, an audio adaption of Steve Lyon’s 1999 Doctor Who novel, featuring the 1st Doctor is released. Entitled The Witch Hunters, the reader of the audio has yet to be announced. However the book’s synopsis can be found below:

The Reverend Samuel Parris, Minister of Salem, follows three strangers in the forest beyond the village — a forest which is traditionally believed to be the source of much evil. He hears movement through the trees, steps forward and makes a terrible discovery. It is one which will change life in Salem forever.

The TARDIS arrives in Salem Village, Massachesetts, 1692. The Doctor wishes to effect repairs to his ship in peace and privacy, and so his companions — Ian, Barbara and Susan — decide to ‘live history’ for a week or so. But the friendships they make are abruptly broken when the Doctor ushers them away, wary of being overtaken by the tragic events he knows will occur.

Upon learning the terrible truth of the Salem witch trials, Susan is desperate to return — at any price. Her actions lead the TARDIS crew into terrible jeopardy, and her latent telepathy threatens to help the tragedy escalate way out of control…

The next audio to be released is an audio reading of The Space Museum. Based on the classic 1st Doctor adventure by Glyn Jones, who adapted his own script for Target’s novel. The audio is an unabridged reading of Jones’ original novelization. The reader of the adaption has yet to be announced. It will be released on the 4th of February 2016.

The final audio announced in this batch is the final part of the Winter saga, The Memory of Winter. Centered around the Winter dynasty, the audio series sees the Twelfth Doctor and Clara interact with various members of the family across various times and places. The first and third parts were written by James Gross while the second and concluding part in the series have been written by George Mann. The Memory of Winter will be released on the 4th of February 2016.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.